After #DeleteAcademiaEdu

Dr Caroline Magennis

“I can’t code. And I think the drones are coming for our young.”

That was how I began a talk to a group of PhD students about social media on Monday: PGR Jan 16. Of course, this was for dramatic effect (but those drones do have some beady eyes on them). I use technology for my academic career when it suits me and when it makes things easier. But, I am not what you might call an Academic Tech Hipster (ATH): I do not always know the latest platforms or have a massive clue what goes on underneath the bonnet of a lot of sites to produce metadata.

At this event, I spoke about how I had managed to use different sites to get my work out there when I had lived in places that were not well connected, often with very limited or no funds to travel. If…

View original post 684 more words

Leave a Reply

