Virginia Woolf

http://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-28231055

Rare recording of Virginia Woolf, This is the only surviving recording of the voice of author Virginia Woolf. The extract is from a talk was called “Craftsmanship” and was broadcast on the BBC on April 29th, 1937 as part of a series called “Words Fail Me”

Embedded image permalink

So, what has this to do with my project and my work here on the Blog. Well I first learned about this recording of Virginia Woolf this morning on Twitter. I do still love Twitter and I have now had access to so many images, articles and videos that I can see how easily one can be addicted. But I have managed to isolate a few that are relevant for my project. At the moment I am working on my Confirmation of Candidature Presentation. The Research Proposal draft has been updated and sent to my Supervisor and so, the next job, is the Presentation. I have plenty of slides with information (not too heavy on the text) don’t worry I’m following the mantra for the most part, but I need to also add some images and think about some anecdotes. After all, it is a presentation, a performative aspect of being a student and it won’t be helpful to spend the whole time to talking about the Literature Review. In fact, because I have done so much reading I think I will just put a slide up and call it a ‘Snapshot’.

Okay, so back to Virginia Woolf. Well I did enjoy reading A Room of One’s Own but I found The LightHouse very difficult and I have to say that one day I will have to go back and finish it. So, on discovering the link on Twitter I went straight to it to hear what Virginia Woolf had to say. She speaks for about eight minutes and she makes wonderful sense. But towards the end of the recording she says that “…words do not live in dictionaries, they live in the mind.” I got to think about that and it is so true. Here I am worried about words on the slide and words on my reading notes page, but it is always in my mind that they come alive. That is why I want to write the novel and move on to my next book/project. I love words, words become a story that I tell myself and if others are interested, words become the stories we tell each other. So, thank you to Irene Gammel@MLC_Research.

Have a good week…yes I know, I haven’t posted for a couple of weeks but it is holiday time:):):)

5 thoughts on “Virginia Woolf

  1. Pondering VW’s ideas about the life of words; where and how they live, and their meagre requirements, I realise that I have been taking them for granted; not according them the respect they deserve. Without them, I am silenced. I feel challenged by this recording to invent new words as descriptors for my writing about violence. My first new word, to describe a perpetrator, is ‘thwanker’ – origin: ‘thwack’ (strike forcefully with a sharp blow) and ‘wanker’ (a contemptible person).

    Like

    • Hi Robyn

      Well done you for taking VW to heart and thinking about how important words are – but more importantly, how finding the right words can make a big difference. It will be interesting to see where the next part of your journey takes you:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

