Research Highlights

Hello, I would like to tell a little story about the photograph below.

While writing the first stages Filesof the literature review for my exegesis, I quickly found the so called ‘go to’ documents, those papers, books, journal articles that many of the major researchers in this field reference. In Irish Studies, one of the main documents is the Commission on Emigration and Other Population Problems Reports, available through the National Archives in Ireland. So, you can imagine my concern when I visited the National Archives in Dublin and was told that many of the documents in the Commission on Emigration file are missing. Anyway, I thought, well ‘okay’ let’s have a look at what is on file. Concern turned to dismay when I was told that the file itself was missing. On my return to Australia and not willing to accept ‘no’ for an answer, I spent days and days searching online for the Reports. So many people had quoted or referenced them that there had to be something somewhere. Well miracles do happen and persistence pays off. I found a copy at the Houses of Oireachtas (Online) Library website. I was so happy that I took a photo. So, here they are, the reports, all 450 pages. ‘What a relief!!

Have you had a similar experience? I would love to hear your story!

2 thoughts on “Research Highlights

Leave a Reply

