Holidays

IMG_7528

Kookaburra on the search

As I start my two week holiday period I find myself at a loose end…I don’t know how not to work. I have finished all my chores in the house and the rain now prevents me from working in the garden. I will be shopping for the last minute Christmas food items tomorrow, but today, how do I manage myself today? “I know” I thought, “I will finally read those links I have always wanted to spend time reading.” So I am and in the process I am looking at Sidonie Smith’s Manifesto for for the Humanities: Transforming Doctoral Education in Good Enough Times. Series: digitalculturebooks. Michigan: Michigan Publishing, that I recently filed away. I have read a few pages and it is an interesting text which I am now referencing in my exegeis. Yes, I am back working on the exegesis. I know… but the wonderful part is that I am able to add up-to-date information in a timely fashion…is that a sign of good practice?

One thought that knocks on my head about this text though is it’s title. I am not familiar with ‘manifestos’ as such, apart from the work I did on “The Jerilderie Letter”, Ned Kelly’s (and others?) masterpiece. Is this a case of a ‘rose by any other name’?

So, how does this little experiment with ‘holiday mode’ work to improve my own creative and research practices? Interestingly enough, the answer is….drum roll…drum roll again…gotta build that tension…that by allowing myself to actually spend time (a little time at least) checking out those links that might not seem at first to be connected to the project, in a relaxed space, it actually allows the magic to happen…and that is the wonderful and exciting point of working on a project such as mine. There are always ‘things out there’ (I know…and Scully and Co will be back next year I’m told) waiting to be discovered. Oops that’s another philosophical discussion waiting to be had.

Have a great day,

Leave a Reply

